NS YES! Board of Directors

Since NSYES was founded in 2000, the original five members has evolved into a 10-member volunteer board of directors. The board members have diverse backgrounds, including the federal and provincial governments, the education community, and the private sector. The volunteer program director is assisted by a communications officer.

Cliff Coveyduc, Executive Director

Cliff Coveyduc is a retired physics teacher and past high school science department head. Cliff’s involvement in science fairs began in 1980, and since then he has attended numerous national fairs with Team Nova Scotia. He is on the Halifax Sci-Tech Expo (Halifax’s regional science fair) committee, and sits on the Board of Directors for Youth Science Canada (YSC).

Dr. Malcolm Butler

Malcolm Butler is the Dean of Science at Saint Mary’s University. He obtained his B.Sc. at McMaster University and his Ph.D. at Caltech. Dr. Butler’s research interests include neutrino astrophysics, the solar neutrino problem, low-energy tests of quantum chromodynamics, and particle physics/astrophysics.

Andrew Clarey

Andrew Clarey has been teaching math and science for over 10 years. He’s a founding member of the Strait Regional Science Fair and is currently its chair. He has been involved in many local and provincial science initiatives, including St. Francis Xavier University physics teachers workshops, school board inservices, and is currently chair of the Association of Science Teachers.

Michael Price, Treasurer

Michael Price is an elementary school principal and has been an educator for 27 years. Since 1988 he has helped organize school and regional science fairs, provided workshops for teachers, and has served as a national delegate for his school district several times. He was one of the co-chairs of the very successful 2007 Canada-Wide Science Fair in Truro.

Ron Farrell

Ron Farrell is Dean of the School of Trades and Technology at the Nova Scotia Community College. Ron is a member of the Skills Canada/Nova Scotia board, and of the Education Committee of the Canadian Manufacturers and Exporters association. He recently was awarded the Distinguished Educator’s award from the Ontario Association of Certified Engineering Technicians and Technologists. Prior to his education career, Ron worked in the engineering field for over 14 years.

Steve Karrel, Chair

Steve Karrel is a teacher at Bible Hill Junior High and has been involved in science fairs since 1987. Karrel was previously chair, awards director, assistant to the chief judge, site logistics director, publicity director and master of ceremonies for the regional science fair. He served on several leadership teams which were responsible for professional development for science teachers in new methodologies and curricula. Steve assisted in the delivery of the NS YES! 2008 Project-Based Learning Presentations pilot program and was one of three co-chairs who organized the 2007 Canada-Wide Science Fair in Truro.

Dr. Sherry Niven

Sherry Niven is science manager with Fisheries and Oceans Canada. She received her Ph.D. in chemical oceanography from Dalhousie University in 1989. One of Sherry’s responsibilities is leading the BIO-Hypatia Project. Sherry has a passion for science; for enhancing the federal research environment; for building awareness of the value of diversity to science; and for making changes that promote diversity within the science and technology community.

Muriel Palmer, Secretary

Muriel Palmer is a retired science and physical education teacher. She earned her teachers certificate, and later a B.Ed. from St. Francis Xavier University and taught for 34 years. Palmer has been involved in science fairs in the New Glasgow area since 1986.

Brian Watson

Brian Watson works in the Office of Economic and Rural Development. He also sits on the board of the Black Business Initiative. Brian has actively supported NS YES! since its founding, and participates in the judging process at local science fairs every year. With Brian’s influence, the Office of Economic and Rural Development has been a key financial supporter of NS YES! since founded in 2000.

Arylene Reycraft

Arylene Reycraft is currently the program manager for Techsploration. She is dedicated to increasing the number of women working in science, trades, technical and technology related occupations by assisting young women from diverse backgrounds to explore a wide range of career options in these fields.


©2013 Nova Scotia Youth Experiences in Science